Topics include Bible and archaeology; human culture and society; church history; pastoral ministry; world religions; theology, philosophy, and ethics.It is updated quarterly.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest online collection of major religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 425 full text titles, including all of the full text titles in ATLASerials® (ATLAS®). This collection also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Areas covered include Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics
It is updated quarterly: February, May, August, and November
more than 374,300+ articles and book reviews combined
ATLASerials features PDFs, with searchable texts of articles and reviews
List of Journals available through ATLAS
Number of users allowed
ATLA allows an unlimited number of concurrent users
An encyclopedia also containing news items, video, eBooks, quotations, subject guides and more. An app is also available.
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. Resources include Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, journals, news feeds from the New York Times and the BBC, selected web sites, and thousands of photographs, videos, tables, graphs and illustrations. Primary sources include letters, speeches, and government documents such as constitutions, declarations and treaties.
Research tools include World Atlas, Compare Countries, and World Data Analyst which allows comprehensive statistical comparisons between countries, or exploration of changes over time. Users can conduct basic and advanced searches, or browse articles, media, and biographies, and can create a personal account to organise favourite content and media.
Number of users allowed
Britannica Academic allows an unlimited number of concurrent users
A collection of over 36,000 online books on many topics. More books added regularly.
With over 36,000 ebooks covering a variety of subjects, ProQuest Ebook Central is Avondale’s key ebook provider. Ebook Central delivers authoritative content from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. Ebook Central is designed with mobile in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download ebooks for offline reading. Perform simple or advanced searches, or browse by subject.
Connect to Ebook Central.
Get help using Ebook Central.
Having problems with Google Chrome?
There is a known issue with the Acano browser extension, where by the page keeps refreshing itself. To fix this, disable this browser extension on the Google Chrome internet browser. More information on this can be found here.
With over 30,000 programs and growing, Informit EduTV provides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, Informit EduTV includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and watch relevant television content instantly. The database contains over 30,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series. Informit EduTV is an essential resource for teaching and learning and allows institutions to derive maximum benefit from their Screenrights broadcast licence.
To make full use of EduTV features, such as adding videos to Favourite folders and creating clips, you will need to register and create an account.
You will need to register using your Avondale email address. Once you complete the registration form, an email will be sent to your Avondale email address with information about your EduTV account username and password. The email will also contain a few video tutorial to get you started with using EduTV, including how to make clips from EduTV videos.
Watch this video
for information on registering with EduTV: Register with EduTV
Features and benefits
Immediate streaming access to over 30,000 programs
Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more from free-to-air and pay TV
Archives of programs starting from 2006 with up to 80 new programs added weekly
Instant institutional login—IP address authentication
Accessible anywhere with an internet connection
Simple and advanced searching with programs classified by subject areas
Online digital library of education research and information from the US. Not all full text.
Adult, career and vocational education
Elementary and early childhood education
Tests, measurement and evaluation
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Includes social sciences, public affairs, business, economics, management, law, engineering, information technology, education, culture, politics, history, heritage, health and indigenous studies.
Informit is the premier source of core research and professional resources from the Australasian region. Informit content is carefully selected, indexed and digitised by RMIT Publishing on behalf of leading publishers and professional associations, making it easier for you to find reputable information and get better results. With over 70 full text and index databases, Informit connects you to unique and hard-to-find resources across a number of disciplines.
The subjects covered include social sciences, public affairs, business, economics, management, law, engineering, information technology, education, culture, politics, history, heritage, health and indigenous studies.
Family and Society Plus
Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
Literature and Culture Collection
Provides access to resources for professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health from the University of Adelaide. Access, appraise and use evidence to help you develop organisational policy and practice manuals.
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. From 1980 -
Access to the world's largest curated collection of essential content all in one place. With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products - Proquest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global - are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, Proquest platform.
ProQuest Central is the largest full-text database in the market today totaling more than 17,580 titles—with over 11,490 titles in full text.
Over 800 full text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers including exclusive access to the full text of The Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times
Over 56,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more
Concise business information from thousands of market and industry reports across hundreds of industries in 90 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America
ProQuest Central is designed to be the single-most used database in the library and beyond. It boasts over 160 subjects including core subject areas such as:
Business and economics
Health and medical
News and world affairs
A research methods tool to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Over 100,000 pages of book, journal and reference content. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Need help designing your research project?
Struggling to understand agent-based models?
Looking for tips to set up a focus group?
SAGE Research Methods is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including:
- Over 640 books
- Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
- The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series
- Two major works collating a selection of journal articles
- Newly commissioned videos
Number of users allowed
SAGE Research Methods allows an unlimited number of users
Provides easy access to more than 8 million resources dealing with behavioural and life sciences, business, chemistry, computers, earth and the environment, humanities, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy.
A comprehensive online delivery platform, providing easy access to more than 8 million resources in the world’s most complete online collection of STM books, journals, reference works, protocols and databases.
Topics covered include:
Biomedical & Life Sciences
Business & Economics
Chemistry & Materials Science
Earth & Environmental Sciences
Humanities, Social Sciences and Law
Mathematics & Statistics
Physics & Astronomy
Provides access to a broad range of content in nine subject areas including, education, business, social sciences, behavioural science, arts and humanities, geography, media, strategy and defence, and politics.
The Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library provides access to a broad range of content in nine subject areas. It provides access to over 770 peer-reviewed online journals in the following areas:
Arts & Humanities titles (History; Literature, language & Linguisitics; Music; Philosophy; Religion; Theatre & Performance Studies and Visual Arts
Behavioural Science titles
Business, Management & Economics titles
Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment titles
Media, Cultural & Communication Studies titles
Politics, International Relations & Area Studies titles
Social Science titles (Anthropology & Archaeology; Criminology; Demography; Gender Studies; Law; Sociology and Ethnic and Migration Studies
Strategic, Defence & Security Studies titles
Other related disciplines (including Public Health & Social Care)
This database keeps you up-to-date with cutting edge research: over 150 journals are ranked with impact factors in the Thomson Reuters Social Science Citation Index; an additional 20 journals are included in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Number of users allowed
Taylor & Frances Social Science & Humanities Library allows an unlimited number of concurrent users
Taylor & Francis Tutorials
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A web based encyclopaedia, sharing an array of historical topics and narratives through text, video, interactive features, and social media.
The encyclopaedia has published thousands of articles on world history, from the beginnings of civilization to the first colonies in the Americas.
Every submission to the encyclopedia is carefully reviewed by our editorial team, making sure only the highest quality content is published to our site. Our publication follows academic standards, but it is written in an easy-to-read manner with students and the general public in mind.
There are also audio versions for all articles (very beneficial for students with learning difficulties) and we also publish videos and podcasts... all for free.
We have no agenda or political affiliation: Our mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and improve history education worldwide.
Founded in 2009 under the name Ancient History Encyclopedia, until it changed its name to the World History Encyclopedia in 2021.