Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Endnote

Building your Library

The version of Endnote you have downloaded from the library website comes pre-loaded with Turabian 9th Edition, MLA 8th Edition, and APA 6th Edition styles. 

How to install additional STYLES

1. Download the style APA 7th edition (or additional style of your choice)
2. Double-click the style file. It should open in EndNote
3. On the open style, go to “File Menu” and choose “Save As”. Replace the word “copy” with your style’s name and click “Save”.
4. Click on “File Menu” and choose “Close Style”
5. Then Go back to your EndNote Library and go to "select another style". Choose it from the list

Where to save your styles

The 400 styles which come with EndNote are usually located in this location: These can stay here
C:Program FilesEndNoteStyles

Any extra styles will need to be saved outside of your Program files, into your personal styles folder. EndNote will then merge these folders into one list when you go to choose a style.

To find the correct folder location for your personal styles folder, first open EndNote and look in Edit>Preferences>Folder locations. This will tell you the default file path. The first time you should create the Styles folder following this pattern.
It will look similar to this:
C:UsersUserNameMy DocumentsEndNoteStyles
Save any modified styles you download into your personal styles folder

Tips

  • Control + N = New Reference
  • Control + W = Save Reference
  • To know what fields need to be filled, use the templates on your Referencing Guides

Tips

  • Command + N = New Reference
  • Command + W = Save Reference
  • To know what fields need to be filled, use the templates on your Referencing Guides

 

View these videos to find out how to automatically export citations into your Endnote library (videos have no sound). These videos were filmed in a Windows environment, but locations of export buttons/initial export process is the same for both Windows and Mac users.

Importing PDF Files

EndNote can import PDF files containing a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) in the metadata or the first two pages of the PDF. EndNote sends the DOI to PubMed and CrossRef, online databases capable of looking up reference data by DOI. The online databases send back the bibliographic information, EndNote imports it, then attaches the PDF to the record created. This means the PDF must have a DOI and EndNote must have access to the Internet during the import.

Importing a Folder of PDF Files on Windows

Select 1) Import from the File menu, then 2) Folder.

1) Click the Choose button, navigate to the folder you want to import, and double-click on it. It will appear in the Import Folder: field.

2) If you wish to include subfolders within that folder, mark the box labeled Include files in subfolders.

3) If you want EndNote to create a separate group set for the main folder and groups within it for the subfolders, mark the box labeled Create a Group Set for this import. Leave the other settings at their defaults. (Note that EndNote will attempt to attach PDFs to matching records that already exist in the library instead of creating duplicate records.)

4) When all your options are set, click the Import button.

Setting PDF Handling

• Click the PDF Handling option in the preferences panel. Here you can set automatic renaming options for PDFs you import or set a “watched” auto-import folder. Any PDF added to the auto-import folder will be imported into the EndNote library. (Note: You cannot put folders of PDFs in the auto-import folder, only individual PDFs.) Click the OK button when you have finished selecting your options. (Note: A folder within the auto-import folder will be created to hold PDFs after they have been imported, so you can easily tell which files have already been imported and which have not yet been imported.)

• EndNote will check the auto-import folder for new PDFs when a library is opened. After opening the library, EndNote will scan for new additions to the folder on a schedule. If you continue working in EndNote and adding PDFs to the auto-import folder, new PDFs added to the folder should be imported into EndNote within ten minutes of adding them to the folder, but you will need to be working in EndNote. If you have been working in another program and switch back to the EndNote window, but do not see your new additions, click on any reference in the list of references to trigger importing

Importing PDF Files

EndNote can import PDF files containing a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) in the metadata or the first two pages of the PDF. EndNote sends the DOI to PubMed and CrossRef, online databases capable of looking up reference data by DOI. The online databases send back the bibliographic information, EndNote imports it, then attaches the PDF to the record created. This means the PDF must have a DOI and EndNote must have access to the Internet during the import.

Importing a Folder of PDF Files on Macintosh

Select Import from the File menu.

Navigate to the location of the folder of PDFs you want to import. Select the folder, then click the Options button.

In the Options, select PDF File or Folder if you do not want EndNote to create a group set and groups for the imported PDFs, or if you are only importing a single PDF. Select PDF Folder as a Group Set if you want EndNote to create a group set and groups for the imported PDFs. (Note: The rest of this example will show the group set option.)

Leave the other options at the default settings and click the Import button. (Note that EndNote will attempt to attach PDFs to matching records that already exist in the library instead of creating duplicate records.)

Setting PDF Handling

1) Click the PDF Handling option in the preferences panel. Here you can set automatic renaming options for PDFs you import or set a “watched” auto-import folder. Any PDF added to the auto-import folder will be imported into the EndNote library.

2) Click the Save button when you have finished selecting your options, then

3) close the window

EndNote will check the auto-import folder for new PDFs when a library is opened. After opening the library, EndNote will scan for new additions to the folder on a schedule. If you continue working in EndNote and adding PDFs to the auto-import folder, new PDFs added to the folder should be imported into EndNote within ten minutes of adding them to the folder, but you will need to be working in EndNote. If you have been working in another program and switch back to the EndNote window, but do not see your new additions, click on any reference in the list of references to trigger importing

 

You can use the Find Full Text option to find and automatically add full text copies of journal articles to records that you have previously stored in an EndNote library.

EndNote will use data in these records to search for corresponding publications, using:

  • Web of Science Core Collection links
  • DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
  • PubMed links
  • OpenURL

and Avondale Library’s OpenURL path and Authentication URL details to access the full text.

 

 

You will need to add Avondale institutional details to the EndNote Find Full Text Preferences as follows:

Windows

  1. Select Edit > Preferences
  2. Select Find Full Text
  • OpenURL Path: http://ap01.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UNI_AVN/openurl
  • Authentication URL: http://databases.avondale.edu.au/login?url=

 

 

Mac

  1. Select EndNote X9 > Preferences
  2. Select Find Full Text

  • OpenURL Path: http://ap01.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UNI_AVN/openurl
  • Authentication URL: http://databases.avondale.edu.au/login?url=

 

  1. Select the reference, or group of references for which you want to find full text
  2. Click on the Find Full Text option in the toolbar, or select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text …
  3. Authenticate using your Avondale user name & password if prompted
  4. Click on Continue

Notes:

  1. Find Full Text will only work for journal articles
  2. The success rate will vary depending on the data in each EndNote record, e.g. works best with records that have a DOI and level of access provided by the source
  3. Set PDF Handling Preferences to automatically rename the attached files in order to ensure that file names are not too long, and that it’s easy to identify documents

 

Records with incomplete reference information, e.g. missing abstracts, DOI, can sometimes be automatically updated with details from CrossRef or PubMed, using the Find Reference Updates option in the References menu.

 

The Find Duplicates option can be used to find and delete duplicate records that might have been added to your library over time.

  • Select References
  • Select Find Duplicates
  • You may then choose which record to keep

If you have a bibliographic reference in your EndNote Library and you want to attach its fulltext article in PDF, you may follow the steps below to do so:

  • Open your EndNote Library.
  • Click on the reference to which you want to attached the PDF file. (Note: Single click shows the fields of the record on the right; double click opens the full window to view the fields.)
  • Move the cursor to the File Attachments field.
  • Either right click or go to the References menu on the top.
  • Go to File Attachments --> Attach File...
  • Retrieve the file you want to attach.
  • The full text PDF should be displayed in an thumbnail icon. The actual full text file is placed in the .data folder.

EndNote provides a number of subject based journal title term lists so that journal names in your bibliography can be presented in either the full name or abbreviation as your style requires.