Skip to Main Content

EndNote for Microsoft: EndNote for Theology Students

EndNote & Theology

EndNote for Theology Students

Adding Footnotes to a Word Document

If you are using the Turabian citation style, you will need to insert a footnote each time you want to add a reference.

 

 

In Word, go to References > Insert Footnote

 

 

Word will automatically add the footnote number at the end of the section and at the end of the page
 

 

 

Choose the EndNote menu from the top menu ribbon and insert citations

Don't forget: For each footnote you add, you will need to include a page number for the citation.

 

 

Highlight the footnote that needs the page number

 

 

In the EndNote tab, choose Edit and ManagemCitation(s)

 

 

 

 

Find the Pages field, enter the page number(s) you used and click Ok​​​​​​.

 

 

 

EndNote will format the page number correctly into your footnote

 

Subsequent/Short Titles

Avondale requires you to use a shortened version of a footnote if you use a resource more than once in your assessment. The footnote includes the full bibliographic information; however, the subsequent footnote should only include the author's last name, Title, page.

To set this up in EndNote, follow these steps:

 

 

 

In EndNote, click on the Tools tab > Output Styles> Edit "Turabian 9th Footnote"

 

 

 

 

 

In the popup box, scroll down to the left-hand side until

you find the footnote heading. Click on the Templates subheading.

 

 

 

Untick the 'When using the short form, include the title field only when needed to disambiguate a citation' checkbox.

 
Save the changes  

 

 

If your lecturer wants you to use a shorter title for these subsequent resources, follow these steps. 

In the example below, the second or subsequent footnotes could be considered too long.

 

 

In EndNote, click on the Tools tab > Output Styles> Edit "Turabian 9th Footnote"

 

 

 

In the popup box, scroll down to the left-hand side until you find the footnote heading. Click on the Templates subheading.

 

 

On the right-hand side of the popup box, find the Generic- Short form box and highlight just the word Title. Be careful not to delete any of the quotation marks or commas.

 

 

 

Click the Insert Feld button on the right-hand side of the popup box. Scroll down and choose Short Title. This will replace Title with Short Title.

 
 
Close the popup box and save the changes (delete Copy from the end of the new Output style name).  

 

 

 

Go to EndNote. Find the resource you are using. In the 'Editing' column, scroll down until you find the 'Short Title' heading.

 

 

Type a shortened title and Save the changes.

Your footnotes in Word should now show the shortened title.

Note: Be extremely careful when editing EndNote templates. These templates format your footnotes and bibliography; if they are edited incorrectly, your footnotes and bibliography will be formatted incorrectly and once saved, it is hard to undo. Please see the library staff if you need to edit these templates further than the steps mentioned above.

EndNote is incorrectly capitalising words

There are a few capitalisation rules that EndNote may not format automatically or incorrectly.

  • The second part of hyphenated compounds (such as Seventh-day Adventist, Twenty-first) should not be capitalised unless it is a proper noun (such as Mid-Atlantic and Un- American).
  • Parts of proper nouns that are not normally capitalised should not be capitalised, for example, van Ludwig or van Merwyk.
  • Capitalise abbreviations such as SDA, USA.

 

To fix this in EndNote, follow these steps:

 

 

 

In EndNote, click on the Edit menu tab

From the drop-down menu, choose Preferences

 

 

 

 

From the left-hand side of the popup box, choose Change Case

 

 

 

 

In the new window, correctly add the words that are capitalising incorrectly

Click on Add

 

 

 

 

Click on Apply

Click on Ok once you have added all the words you have found are being incorrectly capitalised to close the window

 
Repeat this process every time you see words incorrectly capitalised during your assessments, OR do them all at once and use the Update Citations and Bibliography button to change them in your assessment.  

 

How to Reference More Than One Resource by the Same Author in Your Bibliography

If your bibliography includes two or more resources written, edited or translated by the same individual (eg. Ellen White's Steps to Christ and The Great Controversy), arrange the entries alphabetically by title (ignore articles such as 'a' and 'the').  Replace the author/ editor's name with a long dash for all entries after the first. The Bibliography entry for these books should look like this:

White, Ellen G. Great Controversy Between Christ and Satan During the Christian Dispensation. Melbourne, Vic: Signs Publishing, 1996.

______. Steps to Christ. Berrien Springs, MI: Andrews University Press, 2017.

If EndNote does not automatically do this when entering Bibliography entries, follow these steps to set this up in EndNote.

 

 

 

In EndNote, go to the Tools menu tab

In the dropdown menu, choose Output Styles> Edit "Turabian 9th Footnote"

 

 

 

 

In the popup box on the left-hand side, go to Bibliography> Author Lists

At the bottom of the screen that appears, tick the "Replace repeated authors with"

In the box at the end of the sentence, replace --- with ______

 
Save the changes  

Logos & EndNote

You can download references from Logos into EndNote in two ways.

 

Individual Resources

 

 

Click the Info button on the top right of the resource you would like to reference
Look for the Ctation or Export button and download as an RIS file  

 

Create a Bibliography

 

 

 

Click on Docs> New> Bibliography

 

 

Name your bibliography

 

 

 

Add references
Export your Bibliography  

 

Click the bibliography menu icon

 

Select Save as Collection

 

Click on the bibliography menu icon

 

Select Print/Export

 

 

 

From the dialogue box, choose RIS Style and download the resources

 

If the RIS files download to your desktop/ computer instead of EndNote follow these instructions.