Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Education: Primary Education

Recently purchased books

Responsive mentoring: Supporting the teachers all students deserve

Responsive Mentoring: Supporting the Teachers All Students Deserve advocates for a collaborative approach to mentoring that is teacher-centered, scaffolded, and contextualized to teachers’ work. This approach is designed to help teachers across their careers set and meet ambitious instructional goals, while also developing as reflective practitioners who learn in and from their teaching, in order to ensure all students receive a rigorous and engaging educational experience. Mentoring is a highly complex and critical endeavor. To guide mentors’ work, a clear vision for mentoring is coupled with a highly-responsive set of mentoring practices. Recommendations and real world examples help mentors make informed decisions about which practices to use, under what circumstances, and in what combinations, in order to responsively and effectively facilitate teacher learning and development. Concrete and practical advice along with questions for reflection and action help mentors across contexts and levels of experience. A final section outlining intentional and versatile strategies for mentoring-the-mentor ensures that all mentors also have supports to grow as professionals.

The children's music studio: A Reggio- inspired approach

The Children's Music Studio provides music teachers, parents and early childhood educators a wealth of materials and a clear roadmap for applying Reggio Emilia principles and practices to preschool and early childhood music education. Drawing on Professor Hanna's extensive experience researching and teaching in Reggio-inspired music classrooms, this pioneering book provides a comprehensive and in-depth manual for designing music ateliers-hands-on studios that capture the imagination and creativity of children. Informed by the cutting edge research on music learning, this practical guide includes detailed studio plans, examples of Reggio-inspired music studio explorations and documentation of children's work in music studios.In this book you will:- Discover how children can naturally learn music through the studio approach- See detailed examples and documentation of project-based studio learning- Understand how music learning increases overall artistic and academic literacy across the curriculum- Learn how to develop customized projects for your classroom that will teach children to think and communicate fluently through music and soundEarly childhood and elementary music teachers will find this book especially useful as it provides innovative ideas for Reggio-inspired music teaching and learning techniques that can be integrated into the existing curriculum.

Child development and education

Helps students translate developmental theories into practical implications for teaching and caring for children from diverse backgrounds, and with diverse characteristics and needs. Broad coverage and perspectives: draws from numerous theoretical perspectives, research studies conducted around the world, and the authors' own experiences as parents, teachers, psychologists and researchers to identify strategies for promoting young peoples physical, cognitive and socialemotional growth. Australasian focus: highlights contemporary Australian and New Zealand research and reflects local educational structures, philosophies and controversies. Diverse settings: addresses childrens growth in diverse settings by systematically expanding coverage of childrens distinct experiences in different cultures, ethnicities and economic backgrounds.

Learning and Teaching in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Education

This book helps pre-service teachers prepare themselves for teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students in urban, remote and rural primary and secondary schools. The overall aim of this text is to ‘keep things local’ as working closely with the local community is absolutely crucial. Balancing educational theory with practical teaching strategies, it is full of case studies, examples and a range of voices and personal stories to convey the richness and diversity of Australian classrooms

ProQuest eBook Central: Search for eBooks here

Ebook Central

eBooks

Accessing eBooks Part 2

Finding Books in the Library

You can go to the book shelves and browse the Library collection using the following Call Numbers:

220 Bible
268 Religious education
300 Social sciences
370 Education
371 Schools and their activities including special education
372 Elementary education
428 Standard English usage
507 Education, research and related topics
523 Specific celestial bodies and phenomena
540 Chemistry and allied sciences
613 Personal health and safety
794 Indoor games of skill
796 Athletic and outdoor sports and games
808 Rhetoric and collections of literature
825 English speeches
909 World history

TMC Collection
TMC Syllabi

A Selection of Primary Education Books

Websites

English

ABC Education English Resources

English for the Australian Curriculum

Victorian State Government: Literacy and English Teaching Resources

 

Maths

Australian Curriculum Lessons

ABC Education Maths Resources

Aussie Educator: Mathematics Resources

Mathematical Association of NSW Inc 

Maths 300 is a library of maths lessons that is owned and maintained by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT).

 

Science: see STEM LibGuide

 

Humanities

Australian Curriculum SA: Working with Curriculum (HASS)

ABC Education Geography Resources

ABC Education History Resources

ABC Education Civics & Citizenship Resources

Australian Government: Support for Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Arts

Art Education Australia

Aussie Educator: The Arts Resources

Victorian Registration & Qualifications Authority: The Arts Online Resources

National Gallery of Australia: Curriculum Art Sets

ABC Education Arts Resources

 

Technologies: see STEM LibGuide

 

Health & Physical Education

Janice Atkin Education Consultant: Resources to support implementation of PDHPE 

FUSE: Start exploring resources aligned to the Victorian Curriculum

NSW Government Teaching Resources

 

Languages

NSW Government: Languages

Aussie Educator: Languages Resources

First Languages Australia: Education Initiatives

 

Health Promoting Schools
NSW school canteen association
NSW Sport and Recreation


Behaviour Management
Student behaviour management

Information Literacy
The big6 Information Skills for Student Achievement
From Now On: The educational technology journal
EduScapes: a site for life-long learners of all ages
Teacher Tube Resources and lesson plans for teachers

Aussie Educator A broad variety of information, links and resources about education, schools and teaching.

Britannica Image Quest brings lessons, assignments, and projects to life with over three million images from 60 leading collections… and growing!

Cool Australia- Learn for Life Australian lesson plans designed for teachers by teachers

Home Education Association The HEA does not endorse any of these programs particularly, but seeks to provide home educators a list of free resources available online. 

Avid Australia

 

Teaching Associations & Memberships

Websites

Adventist Encounter Curriculum
Adventist Schools Australia
Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers
Australian Curriculum
Australian Mathematics Society
Australian Professional Standards for Teachers
Australian Council for Educational Research
Bible Fun for Kids
Children's Music Portal
CIRCLE - Adventist Early Childhood Education
Danielle's Place of craft and Activities
Department of Education Tasmania
DLTK Bible activities
Early Childhood Australia
Early Childhood Curriculum
Early Childhood Teachers Association

Early Years Learning Framework
Education Department of Western Australia
Education Services Australia
Kidsafe Australia
Kids and Traffic
The HighScope Preschool Curriculum
Natural Learning Initiative
NSW Board of Studies
NSW Public Schools 
NSW Department of Community Services Curriculum framework for Children's services
Painting From the Source. Awakening the Artists Soul in Everyone.
Earth Play 
Victorian Education Department

Australian Government - Department of Education and Training

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

ACT - Education Directorate

NSW - Department of Education

NSW - Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards

NT - Department of Education

NT Board of Studies

SA - Department for Education and Child Development

South Australian Certificate of Education

TAS - Department of Education

VIC - Department for Education and Training

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority

WA - Department of Education

WA - School Curriculum and Standards Authority

QLD - Department of Education and Training

Queensland Curriculum & Assessment Authority

The QCAA is a statutory body of the Queensland Government. It provides Kindergarten to Year 12 syllabuses, guidelines, assessment, reporting, testing and certification services for Queensland schools.

Early Childhood 

Early Learning Languages Australia

The Early Learning Languages Australia program (ELLA) program is a digital, play-based program which includes a series of interactive applications (apps), aimed at making language learning engaging and interesting to young children in preschool and the early years of school.

Universal Access to Early Childhood Education

Universal access ensures that a quality preschool program (also referred to as kindergarten in some states) is available for all children in the year before full-time school. ...

Australian Early Development Census (AEDC)

The Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) is a population measure of how young children in Australia have developed by the time they start their first year of full-time school. The AEDC looks at groups of children in the community, not individuals.

English Language Learning for Indigenous Children (ELLIC) trial

The English Language Learning for Indigenous Children (ELLIC) trial will aim to improve English literacy outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander preschool children for whom English is an additional language or dialect (EAL/D). ELLIC will be underpinned by a play-based, interactive...

The Disability Standards for Education 2005

The Disability Standards for Education 2005 clarify the obligations of education and training providers, and seek to ensure that students with disability can access and participate in education on the same basis as other students. ...

Starting Blocks

Learning Tools

English

ABC Education English Resources

English for the Australian Curriculum

Victorian State Government: Literacy and English Teaching Resources

 

Maths

Australian Curriculum Lessons

ABC Education Maths Resources

Aussie Educator: Mathematics Resources

Mathematical Association of NSW Inc 

Maths 300 is a library of maths lessons that is owned and maintained by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT).

 

Science: see STEM LibGuide

 

Humanities

Australian Curriculum SA: Working with Curriculum (HASS)

ABC Education Geography Resources

ABC Education History Resources

ABC Education Civics & Citizenship Resources

Australian Government: Support for Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Arts

Art Education Australia

Aussie Educator: The Arts Resources

Victorian Registration & Qualifications Authority: The Arts Online Resources

National Gallery of Australia: Curriculum Art Sets

ABC Education Arts Resources

 

Technologies: see STEM LibGuide

 

Health & Physical Education

Janice Atkin Education Consultant: Resources to support implementation of PDHPE 

FUSE: Start exploring resources aligned to the Victorian Curriculum

NSW Government Teaching Resources

Nestle for Heathier Kids - The Good Village

Languages

NSW Government: Languages

Aussie Educator: Languages Resources

First Languages Australia: Education Initiatives

 

Cool Maths for Kids

Britannica Image Quest brings lessons, assignments, and projects to life with over three million images from 60 leading collections… and growing!

Aussie Educator A broad variety of information, links and resources about education, schools and teaching.

Early Learning STEM Australia Early Learning STEM Australia (ELSA) is a play-based digital learning program for children in preschool to explore science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). ELSA allows children to play, experiment and make sense of the world around them – which is part of STEM, and also part of being a child. ELSA’s STEM Practices encourage children to ask questions, make predictions, experiment, and reflect on what happened and why.

Future Makers: Useful STEM links

Mathematical Association of NSW Inc 

Maths 300 is a library of maths lessons that is owned and maintained by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT).

Cool Australia- Learn for Life Australian lesson plans designed for teachers by teachers

Home Education Association The HEA does not endorse any of these programs particularly, but seeks to provide home educators a list of free resources available online. 

Avid Australia