LibGuides: Virtual Library Displays: Open Access Week

About OA Week

What is Open Access Week?

Open Access Week provides a valuable opportunity for researchers and academics to deepen their understanding of the advantages of Open Access, exchange insights with peers, and encourage broader involvement in establishing Open Access as a standard practice in scholarly work.

Open Access—free and immediate online availability of research findings, along with the rights to use and repurpose them—has the potential to revolutionise how research and scientific exploration are carried out. Its impact spans across academia, healthcare, science, industry, and society at large.

The week serves as a key moment to align the growing global support for open knowledge sharing with efforts to drive policy changes and address critical social challenges worldwide. It is recognised and celebrated by individuals, institutions, and organisations across the globe.

The theme for 2025 is " Who Owns Our Knowledge?". The official hashtag of Open Access Week is #OAweek.

Open Access Week at Avondale Uni

Open Access Australasia Events

Open Access Week Australasia Events
Open Access Week aims to accelerate the transition toward openness as the default in research dissemination, enhancing the visibility, impact, and equitable sharing of knowledge across disciplines. Each year highlights a specific theme to encourage reflection and discussion on the social, ethical, and policy dimensions of the open scholarship movement. The theme for 2025 is Who Owns Our Knowledge

Register below for Open Access Australasia’s OA Week 2025. Who owns our knowledge?

Open Access Databases

Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
PubMed
Not full-text. Indexes life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to some full text articles and other related resources.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides access to over 2,600 freely available, full-text scientific and scholarly journals that are either peer-reviewed or exercise quality editor control.