Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business and Management: Business & Management

Avondale Business School News

Going Blind

Christian business school of choice

Avondale Business School

A Selection of Business Books

Built to innovate: Essential practices to wire innovation into your company's DNA

Drive and leverage continuous innovation to meet the challenges of digital disruption, changing markets, evolving customer needs, and increasingly fierce competition

A major question on the mind of every business leader today is: What can I do to create extra value for my company and the customers we serve?

Built to Innovate takes you through the process of answering this critical question and executing it with skill and precision. It explores the nine essential practices of the world's most innovative organizations-including BASF, Starwood Hotels, Domino's Pizza, Bayer, Marvel Studios, Allianz, and Whirlpool-and demonstrates how to leverage them in real and practical ways. You'll learn how to drive innovation in product design and creative use of technology-as well as "in the weeds" business activities, such as business model redesign, customer service, distribution, finance, talent development, and sales. This highly practical guide shows how to:

* Build your execution and innovation engines
* Master the innovation perspective
* Launch the three processes of innovation
* Engage everyone in innovation
* Generate ideas from the front lines
* Empower coaches
* Create a culture of innovation
* Catalyze the innovation process
* Keep the ideas flowing

CEO excellence: The six mindsets that distinguish the best leaders from the rest

Being a CEO at any of the world’s largest companies is among the most challenging roles in business. Billions, and even trillions, are at stake—and the fates of tens of thousands of employees often hang in the balance. Yet, even when “can’t miss” high-achievers win the top job, very few excel. Thirty percent of Fortune 500 CEOs last fewer than three years, and two out of five new CEOs are perceived to be failing within eighteen months.


For those who shoulder the burden of being the one on whom everyone counts, a manual for excellence is sorely needed.

Digital transformation and knowledge management

Knowledge capital is at the core of the socio-economic global system. Profit and not-for profit firms, institutions, and organisations, in general, face unique opportunities and threats related to knowledge management. Digital technologies and digital transformation offer a wide array of opportunities for value creation. Organisations need to foster newer, faster, and more dynamic ways of mobilising and managing knowledge. Emerging trends, such as artificial intelligence, collective intelligence, agile methodologies, open innovation, and co-creation enable new business models and managerial paradigms that need to be understood and conceptualised. This book offers an extensive overview of the most recent trends in knowledge management and the most advanced theoretical approaches, while, at the same time, providing an array of case studies and evidence-based knowledge management practices.

Essentials of corporate finance

Essentials of Corporate Finance provides students with a succinct introduction to the principles and practices of corporate and business finance. Based on the popular US text, now in its 10th edition, this book retains the interactive Ross style, focusing on key concepts and incorporating a range of local and global case studies. New to this Edition One of the most important updates is the introduction of the new structure of solved examples—Problem, Model to use, Solution. All examples first present the problem, identify the model to solve it and then provide the reader with the actual solution. Key features include: Expanded discussion on company valuation and financial statement topics, along with a comprehensive update of data across chapters. New chapter opening case studies and ‘Finance matters’. 

Essentials of management information systems

Essentials of MIS is an in-depth look at how today’s businesses use information technologies and systems to achieve their corporate objectives. Current real-world business cases illustrate how companies have identified, and ultimately solved, key business challenges using information systems and technologies. Through the use of Essentials of MIS, students will be able to participate in, and even lead, management discussions of information systems for a firm.

The 14th Edition consists of 12 chapters with hands-on projects that cover the most essential topics in MIS, all updated with new figures, tables, and cases. In addition to the core text, this edition includes a Video Case Package consisting of 28 video case studies and 10 instructional videos to illustrate business uses of information systems, explain new technologies, and explore concepts. The knowledge and information in this book will be most valuable to students — regardless of major — throughout their business careers.

Financial reporting

The third edition of Loftus’ Financial Reporting has been updated for recent developments in the Australian Accounting Standards, including the release of the new Conceptual Framework. This text is designed to be used across the 2nd and 3rd year financial accounting units.

A hallmark feature of the text is that it provides both a conceptual understanding and a practical application of the accounting standards. For students, an understanding of the conceptual basis of accounting and the rationale behind the principles is crucial to the consistent application of standards in a variety of practical contexts.

Human resource management

The new edition of Raymond Stone’s Human Resource Management is an AHRI endorsed title that has evolved into a modern, relevant and practical resource for first-year HRM students. This concise 14-chapter textbook gives your students the best chance of transitioning successfully into their future profession by giving them relatable professional insights and encouragement to exercise their skills in authentic workplace scenarios.

Management information systems: Managing the digital firm

This book provides the most comprehensive overview of information systems used by business firms today, while drawing connections between MIS and business performance. The Laudons are known for their outstanding real-world case studies, which describe how well-known companies use IT to solve problems and achieve business objectives. Students develop sought-after skills, such as leading IS-related management discussions and using IT to meet bottom-line results. Each chapter of the 16th edition features all-new Interactive Sessions, new Video Cases, and a new Career Opportunities section building practical job-seeking skills.

Marketing management

Marketing Management provides the material that first-year MBA students need to gain a mastery of core concepts in marketing management. Paired with cases, group work, and/or simulations, instructors have the ability to create a dynamic and engaging course. Marketing Management reflects the dynamic environment facing today's marketers, helping them understand how an increasingly competitive global marketplace and the changes in technology affect the marketing decisions that managers must make.

Marketing

Designed for first-year students, Elliott’s Marketing, 5th Edition offers students the perfect mix of marketing theory, strategy and practice. This comprehensive title contains an abundance of real-world insights, explanatory diagrams and practical examples to clarify foundational marketing concepts. Students using Marketing, 5E will gain understanding and the requisite tools to practically apply their knowledge and skills throughout their careers.

In today’s fast-paced world, students are busier than ever. This essential title is written by experts from both academia and industry, with an emphasis on clarity, context (APAC) and currency. It also ensures that the realities of modern marketing, such as globalisation and digitalisation, are integrated throughout every chapter.

Positive leadership: strategies for extraordinary performance

Positive Leadership shows how to reach beyond ordinary success to achieve extraordinary effectiveness, spectacular results, and what Kim Cameron calls “positively deviant performance”—performance far above the norm. Citing a wide range of research in organizational behavior, medical science, and psychology as well as real-world examples, Cameron shows that to achieve exceptional success, leaders must emphasize strengths rather than simply focus on weaknesses; foster virtuous actions such as compassion, gratitude, and forgiveness; encourage contribution goals in addition to achievement goals; and enable meaningfulness in work. In this concise, inspiring, and practical guide, Cameron describes four positive leadership strategies, lays out a proven process for implementing them, and includes a self-assessment instrument. This second edition has been updated throughout with new research findings and new ideas for implementing positive leadership.

When teams work best: 6,000 team members and leaders tells what it takes to succeed

When Teams Work Best advances this groundbreaking research by probing more deeply inside the workings of hundred of teams—some effective and some faltering. For over a decade, the authors collected and analyzed responses from more than 6,000 team members and leaders across a variety of industries, in both public and private sectors, to find out exactly what conditions help or hinder teams in achieving their goals. The voices of these team members—often eloquent, always enlightening—are heard through the quotations that appear throughout the book.

With extensive experience coaching and consulting with teams, LaFasto and Larson bring a valuable real-life perspective to their examination of the rich and often intriguing complexity behind effective teamwork. This book goes far beyond the theoretical to offer proven, practical advice that team members and leaders can easily apply to bring out the very best in their own teams.

Finding Books in the Library

You can go to the book shelves and browse the Library collection using the following Call Numbers:

174 Occupational ethics
241 Moral theology
332 Financial economics
336 Public finance
657 Accounting
658 General management

ProQuest eBook Central: Search for eBooks here

Ebook Central

eBooks

Accessing eBooks Part 2