On this page are lists of journals and databases that may be beneficial to your studies. Clicking on the image will allow you to browse and search within that specific journal or database. Please view the videos below for more information:
 |
 |
Journal alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever a new issue of a particular journal becomes available on EBSCO.
To create a journal alert:
Sign into your My Research account (or create an account) before creating alerts
Browse for a specific journal title from the publications link (top of the ProQuest screen) or identify a publication in your search results.
Click the publication title to display publication details and click the Create alert link (in the bar above the title)
Define your publication alert details.
To manage alerts, click the Alerts tab on your My Research page.
This displays your search and publication alerts in the order you created them; delete, modify or sort alerts into your preferred order.
To set a up a journal alert first create a user account (requires email confirmation to activate account)
Journal alerts notify you by email when a new issue becomes available, to create a alert please sign in.
On ScienceDirect, locate the home page for journal you wish to receive alerts for.
To subscribe to a journal: click Subscribe to New Volume Alerts
To modify a journal alert, click on your username at the top of the screen and choose Manage my Alerts
To set up a Journal Alert
1. Select My Workspace, located in the blue banner at the top of the page.
2. Choose My eTOCS, located below the blue banner.
3. Enter your email address in the box provided.
4. A list of journal titles will be displayed.
5. Select the journal required (you can select more than one) and click the up arrow to add the title from the list.
6. Click Update at the bottom of the screen, to save changes.
1. Choose your keywords
List the keyword(s) or phrases that describe the major concept(s), including words or phrases that mean the same thing (synonyms) and alternative spellings. For example, if you have been asked to write about the relationship between business ethics and marketing in Australia, then you may considering using the keywords marketing AND "business ethics" AND Australia
2. Choose a suitable database
You may wish to start with a general database such as Proquest Central. Don’t forget, the more specific the database, the more you will need to consider appropriate keywords and filters.
3. Perform your search
Combine words with AND to find articles with both words. Using AND gives you less results (e.g. marketing AND Australia)
Use OR to combine synonyms (e.g. television OR TV). Using OR gives you more results
Use truncation to expand your search. (e.g. Austral* will include Australia, Australasian, Australian, etc)
4. Analyse your results
If you got too many results you may need to narrow your search by adding more keywords to be more specific. You may also limit to full-text articles, limit by date, limit to peer-reviewed etc
If you have too few results take out some keywords or try a different set of keywords. When you find an article that is just right, note the subject headings, look at their reference list or look through the article for ideas on other words you can use to help you search further
Finding nothing? You may have selected the wrong keyword(s) or database. Try using more general terms to broaden your search or try another database.
5. Save the article
Print the article, save it onto your computer or export it to EndNote. Exporting the reference to EndNote automatically saves a link to the article.
Search Alerts save valuable research time, they can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new results become available. You can also retrieve a saved search to run immediately, instead of waiting for the alert to run.
To save your search as an alert from the Share link:
Run a search and view your search results.
Click the Share link and select E-mail Alert from the resulting pop- up menu. The Create Alert window appears over the result list.
If you have not done so already, click the Sign in link in the alert window to sign into your folder (or "Create a New Account" if you haven't done so yet).
Set your alert parameters and click Save Alert.
To save a search as an alert from the Search Alert/History window:
Run a search and view your search results.
Click Search History/Alerts and then Save Searches/Alerts. If you have not already signed in your personal account, you will be prompted to do so.
Enter a Name and Description for the Alert.
Select which EBSCO Databases the search should run across from the drop-down list (use the control key to select multiple databases).
To save the search as an Alert click the Alert radio button and set your parameters.
Create a search alert on Proquest
Step 1—Review search details
Name this alert: The name can include alphabetic and numeric characters, as well as spaces and special characters.
Searched for: Reflects the search you performed. Your alerts will be based on that search.
Limited by: Any limiters you applied to the search, such as Peer reviewed, display here.
Databases: Reflects the databases selected when you ran your search.
Step 2— Define your alert email
Send to: The email address associated with your My Research account displays here.
Also send to: Enter one or more email addresses, separating each with a comma or semicolon.
Subject: The subject will display on the Subject line of the alert email you receive.
Message: Optional message of up to 250 characters. The message text will display in your alert email.
Format: Select HTML (the default), or Plain text.
Step 3—Define your alert content
Include search details: Alert name, search terms, limiters, databases
Newly published documents only (default) — As content becomes available in ProQuest, the alert delivers only new material.
Newly added documents, including historical items — As content becomes available in ProQuest, the alert delivers new material and historical sources.
Step 4—Schedule your alert
Send: Specify how frequently ProQuest should run your alert.
Stop after: Specify when you no longer want to receive the alert.
Click on Advanced search (found on the right-hand side of the search bar) and enter your required search criteria.
At the bottom of the page you will be able to name this search and decide whether you would like to receive alerts relating to this search. Click Save search.
At this point you can enter your email address to get updates. In order to manage your saved searches you will need to register or sign in.
Sign in with your username and password and go to My Account.
Click the Manage Saved Searches button. Here you can run your search directly, delete your saved searches, and create new saved searches.
Saving a Search or Search History
Permanent - saves the search for as long as the Library maintains a valid subscription.
Temporary - saves the search for 24 hours, then deletes it.
AutoAlert (SDI) - creates a search that runs automatically on a regular basis & emails results to an email address.
Avondale University acknowledges our Sovereign God as Creator and Provider of all things. We respectfully acknowledge the Awabakal and Darramuragal people as the traditional custodians of the lands on which we live, work, study and worship across our Lake Macquarie and Sydney campuses. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging, and extend that respect to all First Nations People.
Avondale University is a member of the worldwide Seventh-day Adventist system of universities and colleges.
CRICOS Provider No.: 02731D. RTO: 91191. TEQSA: PRV12015. ABN: 53 108 186 401.
© Avondale University Ltd 2025
