Skip to Main Content

Turabian 9th Edition: Generative Artificial Intelligence/ ChatGPT

Generative AI Technology

Referencing AI Generated Text

If a student has permission from their lecturer to engage with artificial intelligence models for a particular assessment task, then they ‘‘… should use AI models in ethical and responsible ways that are consistent with their institution’s learning, assessment and academic integrity policies and procedures, and the terms of use of the AI providers.’’1

Avondale University continues to encourage students to utilise a variety of resources, including textbooks, academic journals, and expert opinions, in order to develop their own ideas and perspectives. As with any information source, the use of ChatGPT for academic assignments should be in accordance with Avondale’s Academic Integrity Policy. Plagiarism, including the use of AI-generated content without a proper citation is taken seriously and can result in disciplinary action. We recognise that ChatGPT and other technologies can be useful tools for academic discussions and idea generation, but that these need to be used in connection with other sources and in accordance with Avondale University’s Academic Integrity

Policy.2

   

1 Australian Academic Integrity Network Generative AI Working Group. "AAIN generative artificial intelligence guidelines." Tertiary Education Quality and Standard Agency. March 2023. https://www.teqsa.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-04/aain-generative-ai-guidelines.pdf

2CASTL. Academic integrity and A.I. Cooranbon, NSW: Avondale University, 2023.

  • Credit Generative AI tools every time you use the text they generate in your own work, even if you paraphrased it. It is a breach of Academic Integrity to falsify that Generative AI is your work. This is considered plagiarism.
  • It is a breach of Academic Integrity to use Generative AI for assessment tasks if you have not been instructed to use it or gained permission from your lecturer to use it
  • If you have used an AI tool to edit, translate, or any other functional use, acknowledge this use by using notes within your text or as a footnote
  • You must include the full prompt/s and generated text as an appendix to your assessment task
  • Not all sources used by AI tools are legitimate- take the time to check and evaluate them. Don't just assume they are correct

 

Turabian Referencing Template

Author: The name of the company that made the software- eg. ChatGPT or Bing AI Chat

Title: This is the prompt used to generate the answer

Date: The date the text was generated

Publisher: Name the company that made the tool

URL: Give the general URL for the tool. Some AI Tools provide a unique URL for the conversation; use this. If the software doesn't provide a unique URL, use the general URL for the AI Tool

Bibliography

The University of Chicago. "Browse Q&A: Citation, Documentation of Sources."  The Chicago Manual of Style Online. June 6, 2023. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0422.html

Bibliography Footnote

Not included in the Bibliography.                          

 

 

You must include the full prompt/s and generated text as an appendix to your assessment task

If the prompt is included in the text

In text- When prompted with "Does a minister's personal faith affect their congregation?" Bing AI Chat responded....1.

 

Footnote

1Text generated by Bing AI Chat, March 7, 2023, Microsoft, https://Bing.com/chat. See Appendix 1.

 

 

If the prompt Has Not been included in the text, it is included in the footnote

1 ChatGPT, response to "Explain the Trinity in relation to God's character," May 14, 2023, OpenAI, https://chat.open.com/chat. See Appendix 4.

 

If you’ve edited the AI-generated text, you should say so in the text or at the end of the note (e.g., “edited for style and content”).

 

Bibliography Footnote

Reference information is included under the figure as a Source Line, with no reference in the Bibliography

If you include a reference to the figure/ image in your text

Fig. number. "Source prompt," image generated by Publisher, Date.

Fig. 4. "Pointillist painting of a mountain scene," image generated by Hotpot AI Art Generator, April 14, 2023.

 

If you do not reference the figure/ image in your text

"Source prompt," image generated by Publisher, Date.

"Pointillist painting of an ocean scene, " image generated by Hotpot AI Art Generator, April 14, 2023.

 

Bibliography

The University of Chicago. "Browse Q&A: Citation, Documentation of Sources: How do You CIte Images Generated by DALL-E?"  The Chicago Manual of Style Online. June 13, 2023. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0423.html

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers. 9th ed. Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press, 2018.

A secondary or indirect source refers to another author's content quoted by the author you are reading. For example, Bing AI Chat quotes a section of text from Jane Austin's writing.

Secondary source guidelines:

  • Turabian discourages students from citing secondary sources. Always try to find, read and cite directly from the original sources where possible.
  •  Use secondary sources only if the primary source is unattainable, eg. out of print or in another language
  • Be hypervigilant when using AI-generated secondary sources- AI generators do not always cite sources correctly or accurately
  • Start with the author and publications details of the original work. Add the text "quoted in" and then add the details of the AI Generator

Bibliography Footnote

Book as primary source

Surname, First name Initial. Primary Source Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Quoted in text generated by Author, Date, Publisher, URL.

 

 

 

Beauvoir, Simone de. The Second Sex. New York: Vintage, 1974. Quoted in text generated by Bing AI Chat, May 11, 2023, Microsoft, https://bing.com/chat.

 

 

If the prompt is included in the text

 

In Text- When prompted with " ......" Bing AI Chat responded "...."1

 

Footnote

1 Simone de Beauvoir, The Second Sex (New York: Vintage, 1974 quoted in text generated by Bing AI Chat, May 11, 2023, Microsoft, https://Bing.com/chat. See Appendix 1.
You must include the full prompt/s and generated text as an appendix to your assessment task

If the prompt Has Not been included in the text, it is included in the footnote

 

1 Simone de Beauvoir, The Second Sex (New York: Vintage, 1974 quoted in text generated by Bing AI Chat, response to".........," May 11, 2023, Microsoft, https://Bing.com/chat. See Appendix 1.
Journal as primary source

Surname, First name Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title (Date). Quoted in text generated by Author, Date, Publisher, URL.

 

 

 

 

Dayringer, Richard "The Genius of Michelangelo's "Creation of Adam" and the Blindness of Art History." Notes in the History of Art (Fall 2013 ). Quoted in text generated by ChatGPT, April 21, 2023, OpenAI, https://chat.openai.com/chat.     

 

 

If the prompt is included in the text

 

In text- When prompted with".........." ChatGPT quoted Richard Dayringer "...1.

 

Footnote

1Richard Dayringer, "The Genius of Michelangelo's "Creation of Adam" and the Blindness of Art History," Notes in the History of Art (Fall 2013), quoted in text generated by ChatGPT, April 21, 2023, OpenAI, https:chat.openai.com/chat. See Appendix 1.

 

 

 

You must include the full prompt/s and generated text as an appendix to your assessment task                                                                                                                                    

If the prompt Has Not been included in the text, it is included in the footnote

1 Ricard Dayringer, "The Genius of Micelangelo's "Creation of Adma" and the Blindness of Art History," Notes in the History of Art (Fall, 2013), quoted in ChatGPT, response to "......." April 21, 2023, OpenAI, https://chat.open.com/chat. See Appendix 4.

 

Bibliography

Simon Fraser University, Library. "Citing Secondary Sources: Chicago/ Turabian (17th ed.) Citation Guide." June 13, 2023. https://www.lib.sfu.ca/help/cite-write/citation-style-guides/chicago/secondary-sources#:~:text=The%20style%20manual%20discourages%20writers%20from%20citing%20secondary,of%20the%20secondary%20work%2C%20the%20source%20you%20consulted.

The University of Chicago. "Browse Q&A: Citation, Documentation of Sources."  The Chicago Manual of Style Online. June 6, 2023. https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/qanda/data/faq/topics/Documentation/faq0422.html

Helpful Resources

Avondale University Academic Integrity Policy

Academic Integrity Policy - Avondale Policies - Confluence (atlassian.net)

Artificial Intelligence: Advice for Students

Artificial intelligence: Advice for students | Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (teqsa.gov.au)

What are the limitations of ChatGPT?

ChatGPT has several limitations, as listed below:

  • It is not creative in a human sense
  • It is not self-aware
  • It summarises information without providing references to sources or citations
  • It cannot judge when information is correct or not
  • It does not possess critical thinking skills
  • It has been trained using online content which only existed prior to 2022
  • It has biases inherent from its programmers and users
  • It cannot hold Copyright or be assigned intellectual property
  • It is not able to make ethical decisions or value judgments
  • It is prone to ‘hallucinations’, meaning that it sometimes fabricates facts and makes errors in reasoning1

______________________

1Cochran, Thomas, & Tracii Ryan. "ChaptGPT and academic integrity: Options for adopting assessment in semester 1 2023." Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education. March 2023. https://melbourne-cshe.unimelb.edu.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/4533218/ChatGPT-and-Academic-Integrity.pdf