LibGuides: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Resources: Home

Terminology Guides

Please see these terminology guides for the correct way to use the term Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Terminology
The Australian Indigenous
HealthInfoNet Guidelines for
Aboriginal and Torres Strait
Islander Terminology
Terminology Guide: for the use of ‘First Nations’ and ‘Aboriginal’ and ‘Torres Strait Islander’ references
This information sheet provides a guide for Queensland Health staff on
using the terms ‘First Nations’ people and 'Aboriginal' and 'Torres Strait
Islander' peoples.

Student Support Services

Avondale University's Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander student support person

Shirley Fatnowna

Ms Shirley Fatnowna is the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander student support person for the Sydney campus of Avondale University. She is a Registered Nurse who did her Bachelor of Nursing through Avondale and has worked in various health areas.

Shirley Identifies with Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander students and is passionate about helping students. She is keen to assist you through your course with a welcoming and experienced ear. Shirley is also happy to discuss any issues that require assistance or any concerns you may have.

If you require this service or simply a 'chat', please call Shirley on her work phone at (02) 4980 2224 or email her at shirley.fatnowna@avondale.edu.au.

WATCH Gari Yala -VIDEO
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander experiences in the workplace.

Resources Slideshow

The Little Red Yellow Black Book

Aboriginal Reconciliation

Websites

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice
Aboriginal Cultural Safety Workbook
Aboriginal Hertiage Office
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Peoples
Bringing Them Home
Stories of the Stolen Generations
Close the Gap
Close the Gap: Indigenous Health Campaign
Reconciliation Australia

Interactive Resources

eMagazines

National Indigenous Times

Indigenous Australia Resources

Loving Country: A Guide to Sacred Australia by Pascoe, Bruce & Vicky Shukuroglou
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781741176483
Publication Date: 2020
Loving Country is a powerful and essential guidebook that offers a new way to travel and discover Australia through an Indigenous narrative. In this beautifully designed and photographed edition, co-authors Bruce Pascoe and Vicky Shukuroglou show travellers how to see the country as herself, to know her whole and old story, and to find the way to fall in love with her, our home.
Talking to my country by Stan Grant
Call Number: 305.89915 GRA
ISBN: 9781460751978
Publication Date: 2016

'Talking to my country' is Stan Grant's very personal meditation on race, identity and history. It is that rare and special book that talks to every Australian about their country - what it is, and what it could be. It is not just about race, or about indigenous people but all of us, our shared identity. Direct, honest and forthright, Stan is talking to us all. He might not have all the answers but he wants us to keep on asking the question: how can we be better?
Welcome to Country: a travel guide to Indigenous Australia by Marcia Langton, Nina Fitzgerald, Marly Wells, Tahlia Eastman, Rebekah Hatfield, & Dino Hodge
ISBN: 1743587430
Publication Date: 2021
In this extensively updated edition, Marcia Langton offers a full range of Indigenous-owned or -operated tourism experiences across Australia, including an expanded directory with 250 new listings, illustrated maps, and photography by Wayne Quilliam. Australia is home to the longest continuing culture on Earth, and Welcome to Country 2nd edition highlights myriad ways to engage and deepen our knowledge and appreciation of the First peoples through travel. Everything from arts centres to tours is covered in this guide, and there are also fascinating insights into Indigenous cultures and histories, as well as etiquette for visitors. This guide also addresses the events and issues facing Australia today, such as as Native Title, the Stolen Generations, the 2020 bushfires, the Black Lives Matter movement, and making a rightful place in the nation for the First Australians.
Everything You Need to Know about the Uluru Statement from the Heart by Megan Davis; George Williams
ISBN: 1742237401
Publication Date: 2022-02-21
On 26 May 2017, after a historic process of consultation, the Uluru Statement from the Heart was read out. This clear and urgent call for reform to the community from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples asked for a First Nations Voice to Parliament protected in the Constitution and a process of agreement-making and truth-telling.
Endeavour Voyage: The untold stories of Cook and the First Australians by Ian Coates
ISBN: 9781921953378
Publication Date: 2020
The Story of Cook and 1770 marks the first moment of British contact with the east coast of the continent we now know as Australia. It is one of our nation's origin stories, although remembered very differently by Anglo-Australians and by Indigenous Australians. Endeavour Voyage: The Untold Stories of Cook and the First Australians brings something new to this chapter of our history. It expands our national narrative to encompass the perspectives of Indigenous Australians long absent from the telling of these stories. In making the exhibition and creating this companion book, the National Museum of Australia worked closely with Indigenous people from communities along the east coast of Australia - people whose ancestors witnessed the events of 1770. This richly illustrated publication provides the back story to the exhibition and offers insights from Megan Davis, Maria Nugent, Angus Trumble, Sarah Engledow and others on both Captain James Cook and the Endeavour voyage, including how our understandings of the events of 1770 have been shaped, in part, by a 250th anniversary year defined by COVID-19.

Did You Know?

Avondale Libraries are implementing a new sticker system to make it easier for our students to identify Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources. Look out for stickers of the flags on the book. Some will have both flags.

(shown below)

Journals

Aboriginal History

Australian Aboriginal Studies

Balayi, culture, law and colonialism.

Journal of Australian Indigenous Issue

Ngoonjook: Australian First Nation's Journal

Koori Mail (The voice of Indigenous Australia. The national Indigenous newspaper is 100% Aboriginal-owned and is 100% self-funding).

Databases

ATSIDA - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains digital data generated by researchers working with Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and issues. ATSIDA staff recognise the need for respectful treatment of this data and work with researchers and the communities to which this material relates to ensure this happens.
Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects within an indigenous context including health, land rights, culture, law and education.
The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
This collection will benefit a great variety of professionals and researchers involved with Indigenous issues such anthropologists, archaeologists, and people working in government departments, health services, legal services, museums, as well as in Aboriginal land councils and other Indigenous organisations.

With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
Australian Indigenous Health This link opens in a new window
Contains links to articles, policy documents, reports and other material on Indigenous health and wellbeing. Topics include chronic and infectious conditions, health determinants, risk factors and specific population groups. Browse by topic or search the Bibliography.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Resources: Home

Acknowledgement of Country