The Children's Music Studio provides music teachers, parents and early childhood educators a wealth of materials and a clear roadmap for applying Reggio Emilia principles and practices to preschool and early childhood music education. Drawing on Professor Hanna's extensive experience researching and teaching in Reggio-inspired music classrooms, this pioneering book provides a comprehensive and in-depth manual for designing music ateliers-hands-on studios that capture the imagination and creativity of children. Informed by the cutting edge research on music learning, this practical guide includes detailed studio plans, examples of Reggio-inspired music studio explorations and documentation of children's work in music studios.In this book you will:- Discover how children can naturally learn music through the studio approach- See detailed examples and documentation of project-based studio learning- Understand how music learning increases overall artistic and academic literacy across the curriculum- Learn how to develop customized projects for your classroom that will teach children to think and communicate fluently through music and soundEarly childhood and elementary music teachers will find this book especially useful as it provides innovative ideas for Reggio-inspired music teaching and learning techniques that can be integrated into the existing curriculum.
Helps students translate developmental theories into practical implications for teaching and caring for children from diverse backgrounds, and with diverse characteristics and needs. Broad coverage and perspectives: draws from numerous theoretical perspectives, research studies conducted around the world, and the authors' own experiences as parents, teachers, psychologists and researchers to identify strategies for promoting young peoples physical, cognitive and socialemotional growth. Australasian focus: highlights contemporary Australian and New Zealand research and reflects local educational structures, philosophies and controversies. Diverse settings: addresses childrens growth in diverse settings by systematically expanding coverage of childrens distinct experiences in different cultures, ethnicities and economic backgrounds.
Families in Transition: Parenting Gender Diverse Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults is a compilation of clinically oriented articles, research, and case material authored by mental health and medical experts, both nationally and internationally known, as well as first-person narratives written by parents and families, exploring the complexities faced by parents and caretakers attending to the needs of their children in a largely hostile world. The professional articles are positioned side by side with the voices of the parents themselves—each complementing the other—together adding up to a richly complex, original tapestry.
While most books on this subject highlight the experiences of the gender diverse child and adolescent, parents’ perspectives are placed front and center. Those raising these children and adolescents have unique struggles and personal processes as caregivers and advocates. Making complex social and medical decisions in a society that is hostile and polarized only complicates the picture. This book highlights their rarely heard voices and gives insight to therapists and physicians on how to support all members of the family, helping them grow and heal during what is often a challenging time.
Kinglake had one day of disaster with far-reaching effects; Kabul has endured 30 years of war. In this remarkable collection of young people's writing, students from schools in Kinglake and Kabul share their stories of resilience, courage and hope.
This book is the third in the series ‘Revealing Jesus in the Learning Environment.’ This volume spans learning environments across Christian primary and high schools to Christian universities and colleges, exploring how these environments, and the teachers who create them, reveal Jesus to their students.
The chapters range from academic literature reviews and researched position papers on salient topics to original research in schools. The book explores a range of topics including teacher dispositions, peer-bullying in Christian schools, children’s perceptions of God/Jesus from experiences in a school garden, and helping students find a reference point for validating their opinions. Ranging from the practical to the philosophical, each chapter adds to the evidence and reports the impact of revealing Jesus in the learning environment.
In this book, Keeler and Miller shorten the learning curve by providing a thorough overview of the Google Classroom App. Part of Google Apps for Education (GAfE), Google Classroom was specifically designed to help teachers save time by streamlining the process of going digital. Complete with screenshots, 50 Things You Can Do with Google Classroom provides ideas and step-by-step instruction to help teachers implement this powerful tool.
Google Classroom helps teachers:
• Encourage collaboration between students
• Seamlessly use other Google tools, such as Google Docs
• Provide timely feedback to keep students engaged in the learning process
• Organize assignments and create a paperless classroom
Starting with the basic science underlying dyeing and printing processes, this comprehensive book explains the fundamentals of dye and pigment chemistry and the various application techniques and processes. It offers chapter coverage of the general chemistry related to textiles, textile fibres, chemistry of dyes and pigments, industrial coloration methods, textile printing, theoretical aspects of dyeing, the measurement of colour and fastness testing. Reference is made to developments that have taken place in the coloration industry in recent years, not least of which have been the challenges imposed by the drive towards environmentally-friendly processes and restrictions on the use of certain chemicals.
Avondale University acknowledges our Sovereign God as Creator and Provider of all things. We respectfully acknowledge the Awabakal and Darramuragal people as the traditional custodians of the lands on which we live, work, study and worship across our Lake Macquarie and Sydney campuses. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging, and extend that respect to all First Nations People.
Avondale University is a member of the worldwide Seventh-day Adventist system of universities and colleges.
CRICOS Provider No.: 02731D. RTO: 91191. TEQSA: PRV12015. ABN: 53 108 186 401.
© Avondale University Ltd 2025