Research Support

The Scholars' Centre on the Lake Macquarie campus provides a quiet, dedicated space specifically for HDR candidates and visiting scholars. Facilities include lockable desks, new sit-stand desk, computers, a seminar room for meetings, and a lounge area for casual reading. HDR candidates have 24/7 keycard access to the centre, offering a focused research environment. To request access, email the Head Librarian at librarian@avondale.edu.au

The library offers a range of workshops to support skill development across key areas of the research process. 

Workshop Topics:

• Open Access and Open Scholarship: Understand the principles of open access, learn how to share your research openly, and explore transformative agreements available at Avondale.
• Research Metrics and Impact: Learn to measure and increase your research impact using citation tracking, bibliometric analysis, and altmetrics.
• Advanced Search Techniques for Literature Reviews: Discover effective search strategies for locating high-quality literature, including the use of databases, advanced filtering, and Boolean operators.
• Research Software and Tools: Get hands-on guidance with tools such as EndNote for citation management, NVivo for qualitative data analysis, and SPSS for statistical analysis. Please contact Research Services for support with NVivo and SPSS.

To register for a session, please visit the Avondale Library page.

Book an appointment with a Librarian or Learning Advisor

 Avondale University provides a range of resources and tools to support literature searching and citation management.

• Literature Search Guides: Access self-paced guides on advanced search techniques, using Boolean operators, and maximising database search functionalities.
• EndNote Support: EndNote is Avondale’s recommended tool for managing citations and references. The library offers EndNote workshops, as well as guides and one-on-one support to help you get started or troubleshoot issues.
• Citation Management and Referencing Assistance: Avondale’s librarians can help you with proper referencing techniques, managing in-text citations, and organising your bibliography to meet academic standards.

To book a one-on-one session with a librarian for literature search or citation support, please book an appointment.

Online Support Materials

In addition to in-person support, the library offers a collection of online resources and guides that you can access at any time to support your research skills development.

• Research Guides: Self-paced tutorials on topics like advanced search strategies, referencing, and using research databases effectively.
• Video Tutorials: Step-by-step video guides on using research tools and software, conducting literature reviews, and accessing library resources.
• FAQs: A dedicated section covering common research questions.

Avondale University offers a network of support services to assist you through every stage of the research lifecycle. The library collaborates with other campus departments to ensure you have access to integrated support and resources.

Key Collaborative Services:

• Research Services: Offers assistance with research lifecycle management, reporting, and compliance requirements.
• Information Technology (IT) Services: Provides support for accessing research software, troubleshooting technical issues, and maintaining systems like ACORA.
• Learning Advisors: Available for consultations on research strategies, academic writing, and study skills development.