Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Avondale University Library blog

Library Newsletter - June 2022

by Lake Macquarie Librarian on 2022-06-06T10:43:55+10:00 in Newsletter staff | Comments

 

YOU DID IT!

Making it through Semester 1 is a great accomplishment and deserves the opportunity to find a quiet corner, cuppa and good book!  OK, so back to reality and hope you are all well and find our Library Services and Resources here to support you in the many ways we can. Feedback here is always welcome.

Recently, I was asked about my job and how it must be very relaxing working in a library!  I was thrilled we give the appearance of serene enablers of knowledge, all the while keeping up the mechanics of technology and access, collection development, research assistance, etc. etc. and none of this could happen without our celebrated LIBRARY TEAM.

Some of the main focus points at this period of the year include:

Assignment Writing and Presentation Guide (update), Academic Integrity review and update of AIM, collaboration of Library/Academic Services on libguide Academic Integrity, Research Strategy working group, DOI's for TEACH articles, ALMA system updates, Research libguides, Open Access discussion group meetings, Twitter and research outputs, eReserve assistance with Scanning/Reading List design/development.  If you have any queries on these just send through an email to library@avondale.edu.au.

BOOK PURCHASING: for extra books/ebooks purchased and ready for Semester2, please send through requests to Jude asap, as she will be on annual leave from 30th June to 18th July.

WINTER SCHOOL

We are preparing  a special Reserve Collection of key books/resources, accompanied with a Display of supporting books that we have purposely acquired in support of key topic areas, these will also be promoted in the Subject Libguide for given areas.  As we know that students will have busy days we will also have our Reference library staff available for the evening hours till 9pm (Rebecca Hawken, John Nixon, Emma K).  Our hours for Winter School are listed here. HOT DRINKS are a must for cool winter evenings, and we'll make these available every evening whilst providing a safe, warm, comfortable space for collaborative projects or an individual quiet study nook.

UPCOMING EXHIBITS:

  • AUGUST:  National Science Week - Aug.13th highlighting all the great resources and work Avondale contributes in this area.
  • SEPTEMBER:  Sustainable Development Goals a chance to showcase Avondale's outputs, FoE and mission aligning with key SDGs.
  • OCTOBER: World Teachers Day 5th Oct. a celebration of the invaluable impact Teacher's have for our society at large. Come take a look at the very best of  our resources and outputs that support the making of Avondale Teachers.

For the latest in Higher Education news, research, policy, opinion, and on campus views, check out our full online access to Campus Review via the library.

 

TRIAL DATABASES: have a look at the below & provide some Feedback here

  • Australian content
  • Licensed database. Requires Avondale login
Trial
A journal database that focuses on an Australian and New Zealand perspective, this user-friendly database organizes over 850 full-text publications including Australia and New Zealand periodicals, magazines, academic journals, Australian and New Zealand news articles, images, videos and audio files.

Nursing Reference Centre PLUS: this is a new replacement database for the soon to be decommissioned Nursing Reference Centre. Please have a look at it and the added functionality.  I particularly like the integration with CINAHL.   For June, access is provided to staff only via password. Please use the login credentials: User ID:s3096142trial PW: Trial$2022  Note: the library plans to upgrade the subscription.


We're in the process of renewing our Stat Edu Licence:  here is a reminder of why 10% is OK


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...