LibGuides: Nursing: Journals & Databases

Nursing Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Not full text.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.

PsycINFO is generally the starting point for research in the behavioral sciences as well as other related disciplines. Each year, APA looks for ways to enhance the researcher's experience with its databases. The annual reload provides the best opportunity to provide new ways to retrieve content, discover innovative and cutting-edge research, and increase the overall utility of the databases. A few of the key components of the 2012 reload include:

All current grant/sponsorship data, which is currently a free-text field, has been fielded to include sponsor name, recipient, grant/award/contract number, date, dollar amount, principal investigator, and additional information as necessary

A new identifier has been inserted into the current Tests and Measures field in PsycINFO, allowing the user to move seamlessly from a test in the Tests and Measures field to the test records in PsycTESTS

A new field has been created and PubMed ID numbers added to PsycINFO records.

The Term Finder (Thesaurus) has been updated with nearly 80 new terms, hierarchical changes, and scope note revisions
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Independent, high-quality evidence for health care decision making.
Science Direct Elsevier This link opens in a new window
Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Social and Behavioural Sciences collection.
A scientific database of more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters.
ScienceDirect scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

Number of users allowed
ScienceDirect allows an unlimited number of concurrent users.
Family Health This link opens in a new window
Covers an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects within a health context including therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. From 1977 -
Number of users allowed
Informit allows an unlimited number of concurrent users
Health Management This link opens in a new window
Covers health administration, hospitals, insurance, law, management, personnel and ethics.
Health Reference Centre Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects within an indigenous context including health, land rights, culture, law and education.
The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
This collection will benefit a great variety of professionals and researchers involved with Indigenous issues such anthropologists, archaeologists, and people working in government departments, health services, legal services, museums, as well as in Aboriginal land councils and other Indigenous organisations.

With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
Joanna Briggs Institute COnNECT+ (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health from the University of Adelaide. Access, appraise and use evidence to help you develop organisational policy and practice manuals.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides medical information on medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Not full text.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. From 1980 -
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases plus information on procedures, legal cases and drugs, patient education and nursing news.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education. Includes access to nearly 5 million records, more than any other nursing database!
Ovid Fast Facts This link opens in a new window
This collection holds a number of "Fast facts" books on various medical topics including cancer, dementia, asthma, brain tumours, celiac disease and many more.
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading bibliographic source with access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages.
Ovid Nursing This link opens in a new window
Articles for the medical profession.
Download the Ovid app here
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's largest curated collection of essential content all in one place. With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products - Proquest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global - are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, Proquest platform.
ProQuest Central is the largest full-text database in the market today totaling more than 17,580 titles—with over 11,490 titles in full text.

Over 800 full text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers including exclusive access to the full text of The Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times
Over 56,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more
Concise business information from thousands of market and industry reports across hundreds of industries in 90 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America

ProQuest Central is designed to be the single-most used database in the library and beyond. It boasts over 160 subjects including core subject areas such as:

Business and economics
Health and medical
News and world affairs
Science
Education
Technology
Humanities
Social Sciences
Psychology
Literature
Law
Women's studies
...and more
Sage Journals Database This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities Libraries This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a broad range of content in nine subject areas including, education, business, social sciences, behavioural science, arts and humanities, geography, media, strategy and defence, and politics.
The Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library provides access to a broad range of content in nine subject areas. It provides access to over 770 peer-reviewed online journals in the following areas:
Arts & Humanities titles (History; Literature, language & Linguisitics; Music; Philosophy; Religion; Theatre & Performance Studies and Visual Arts

Behavioural Science titles

Business, Management & Economics titles

Education titles

Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment titles

Media, Cultural & Communication Studies titles

Politics, International Relations & Area Studies titles

Social Science titles (Anthropology & Archaeology; Criminology; Demography; Gender Studies; Law; Sociology and Ethnic and Migration Studies

Strategic, Defence & Security Studies titles

Other related disciplines (including Public Health & Social Care)

This database keeps you up-to-date with cutting edge research: over 150 journals are ranked with impact factors in the Thomson Reuters Social Science Citation Index; an additional 20 journals are included in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Number of users allowed
Taylor & Frances Social Science & Humanities Library allows an unlimited number of concurrent users

Further help
Taylor & Francis Tutorials

CINAHL Database Video Tutorials

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial

CINAHL Advanced Searching Tutorial

Quick Links to Australian Journals

ACORN (Best bet)

Australian Critical Care

Australian Journal of Paediatric and Child Health

Australian Journal of Rural Health

Australian Journal on Ageing

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal (ANMJ)

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health

ANZ Journal of Surgery

Australasian Emergency Care

Collegian

Contemporary Nurse

Emergency Medicine Australasia

Immunology and Cell Biology

International Journal of Mental Health Nursing

International Journal of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing

Journal of the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet

Journal of Perioperative Nursing (Best bet)

Nutrition and Dietetics

Pharmacy Practice and Research

Wound Practice and Research (Wounds Australia)

Free Nursing Databases

Allied Health Evidence allows you to search four databases at once for citation details, and where possible the abstract and link to the full text, for treatments relevant to Physiotherapy (PEDro), Occupational Therapy (OTSeeker) and Speech Pathology (speachBITE). The fourth database, PsycBITE, contains research about cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occuring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). Each database provides critical appraisal details for many of the studies that are indexed.

Provides free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Information and resources about palliative care for health professionals, patients, carers, family and friends.

A free online medical image database, MedPix has amassed a collection of over 53,000 images from over 13,000 cases, including both common and rare conditions. Most cases have a proven diagnosis (pathology, clinical follow-up). The teaching file cases are peer-reviewed by an Editorial Panel. The primary target audience includes medical students, nurses and graduate nursing students. The material is organized by disease category, disease location (organ system), and by patient profiles.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database is a free database of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. You can search the database for bibliographic details, and sometimes full text, of trials, reviews and guidelines.

Australian Indigenous Health This link opens in a new window
Contains links to articles, policy documents, reports and other material on Indigenous health and wellbeing. Topics include chronic and infectious conditions, health determinants, risk factors and specific population groups. Browse by topic or search the Bibliography.
Hindawi This link opens in a new window
Publishes 567 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering science, technology and medicine.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a tool for you to find and use high-quality clinical research evidence. It's a health and medical search engine that simultaneously searches evidence based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

Searching a Database

1. Choose your keywords
List the keyword(s) or phrases that describe the major concept(s), including words or phrases that mean the same thing (synonyms) and alternative spellings. For example, if you have been asked to write about skin cancer prevention in Australia, then you may considering using the keywords neoplasms AND skin AND Australia AND prevention

2. Choose a suitable database
You may wish to start with a general database such as Proquest Central. Don’t forget, the more specific the database, the more you will need to consider appropriate keywords and filters.

3. Perform your search
Combine words with AND to find articles with both words. Using AND gives you less results (e.g. "skin cancer" AND Australia)
Use OR to combine synonyms (e.g. television OR TV). Using OR gives you more results
Use truncation to expand your search. (e.g. Austral* will include Australia, Australasian, Australian, etc)

4. Analyse your results
If you got too many results you may need to narrow your search by adding more keywords to be more specific. You may also limit to full-text articles, limit by date, limit to peer-reviewed etc
If you have too few results take out some keywords or try a different set of keywords. When you find an article that is just right, note the subject headings, look at their reference list or look through the article for ideas on other words you can use to help you search further
Finding nothing? You may have selected the wrong keyword(s) or database. Try using more general terms to broaden your search or try another database.

5. Save the article
Print the article, save it onto your computer or export it to EndNote. Exporting the reference to EndNote automatically saves a link to the article.

Nursing: Journals & Databases

Journals

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Database Video Tutorials

Quick Links to Australian Journals

Free Nursing Databases

Useful Journals

Medical Journal of Australia (eMJA)

Journal of Research in Nursing

Clinical Nursing Research

The Australian Nursing Journal: ANJ.

International Journal of Mental Health Nursing

Journal of Advanced Nursing

Australian Journal of Rural Health

Journal of Transcultural Nursing

Journal of Clinical Nursing

Journal of Holistic Nursing

Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health

Wound Practice and Research

Searching a Database