Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition Referencing: ELECTRONIC

Electronic

One author

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. DOI or URL
Crispin, G. (1996). Trial by fire. Pottery in Australia, 35(3), 8-10. https://doi.org/10.1137.rrv0000126 (Crispin, 1996)

 

Two authors

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname1, Initial., & Surname2, Initial. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. DOI or URL
Watts, M., & Walstad, W. (2010). Economic education in an international context. Journal of Economic Education, 41(4), 410. https://doi.org/10.1137.rrv0000126 (Watts & Walstad, 2010)

 

Three-20 authors

Reference List In-text Citation
O'Connell, P., Pepler, D., & Craig, W. (1999). Peer involvement in bullying: Insights and challenges for intervention. Journal of Adolescence, 22(4), 437-452. https://doi.org/10.1137.rrv0000126 (O'Connell et al., 1999)

List all authors

 

21+ authors

Reference List In-text Citation
List first 19 authors, then . . . Last Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. DOI or URL 
Liu, Y., Zhou, J., Yang, H., Yao, W., Bu, W., Yang, B., Brown, W., Black, T., Baker, M., Cox, A., Cox, E., Blake, K., Threadgate, R., Boatswain, E., Hemingway, L., Price, E., Baker, Y., Melville, E., David, R., . . . Wang, X. (2007). Susceptibility and transmissibility of pigeons to Asian lineage highly pathogenic avian influenza virus subtype H5N1. Avian Pathology, 36(6), 461-465. https://doi.org/10.1137.rrv0000126 (Liu et al., 2007)

 

No author named

Reference List In-text Citation
A rose is a rose is a rose: Bullying in all of its disguises. (2011). Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services, 49(10), 6-7. https://doi.org/10.1137.rrv0000126 ("A rose is a rose is a rose," 2011)

Article in an online periodical

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. URL or DOI 
Petrys, D. (2011). Ensuring vaccine safety. Health Voices, 9(10), 12. https://www.dhf.org.au//Hepdfs/chf/Voices-October-2011.pdf (Petrys, 2011)

 

Article in a nursing database

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Title of Database. URL
Komusky, J., & Schub, T. (2013). Abdominal aortic aneurysm. CINAHL Nursing Guide. http://ezproxy.rasmussen.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.c om/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nup&AN=T704248&site=eds-live (Komusky & Schub, 2013)

 

Article in database with an Unique Article Number

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Title of Journal, volume(issue), Unique article number. URL or DOI 

Jayaweera, M., Perera, H., Gunawardana, B., & Manatunge, J. (2020).

Transmission of COVID-19 virus by droplets and aerosols: A critical review on the unresolved dichotomy. Environmental Research188, 109819. doi:10.1016/j.envres.2020.109819 

(Jayaweera, et al., 2020)

Citing an article published with an article number - replace the page range with the six-digit article number. Please be aware, the article number does not replace the DOI. Both need to be encompassed in the citation.

 

Dissertation or theses from an online database

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title (Publication No.). [Type of dissertation, University name]. Database. 
Hollander, M. M. (2017). Resistance to authority: Methodological innovations and new lessons from the Milgram experiment (Publication No. 10289373) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Wisconsin-Madison]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global. (Hollander, 2017)

 

Informally published work from ERIC database

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. ERIC. URL 
Ho, H. (2014). Teacher preparation for early childhood special education in Taiwan (ED545393). ERIC. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED545393.pdf (Ho, 2014)

eBook

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Publisher if no DOI or URL. DOI or URL 
Storey, K. (2004). Functional metabolism: Regulation and adaptation. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/avondale/docDetail.action?docID=10114132  (Storey, 2004)

 

eBook from an academic research database

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Publisher.
Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.   (Burgess, 2019)

Research report

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. URL 
Australian Government Productivity Commission. (2012). Strengthening trans-Tasman economic relations. https://www.pc.gov.au/inquiries/completed/australia-newzealand/report/trans-tasman.pdf  (Australian Government Productivity Commission, 2012)

 

Online dictionary

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Entry title. In Title. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL 
American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Positive transference. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved August 31, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster/dictionary/self-report  (America Psychological Association, n.d.)

 

Brochure

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title [Brochure]. URL 
California Board of Psychology. (2005). For your peace of mind [Brochure]. http://www.Psychboard.ca.gov/formspubs/brochure.pdf (California Board of Psychology, 2005)

Map, graph, table or chart

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title [Format]. Publisher. URL
Cable, D. (2013). The racial dot map [Map]. University of Virginia, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service. https://demographics.coopercenter.org/Racial-Dot-Map (Cable, 2013)