Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Turabian 9th Edition: ELECTRONIC

Electronic

Journal article

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Year): Page range. First name Surname, "Title of Article,' Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Year). Page.

Brockopp, Jonathan E. “Islam and Bioethics.” Journal of Religious Ethics 36, no. 1 (2008): 25-29.

Please note: If the online source provides a paginated pdf of the article it is likely this is from a paper-based journal, and therefore no URL is required. A URL is only required for journals which are published exclusively online, and is added after the page numbers.

Jonathan E. Brockopp, “Islam and Bioethics,” Journal of Religious Ethics 36, no. 1 (2008): 27.

Article from a database

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Month Year) Page range. Database. First name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Month Year): Page, Database.

Ferrell, Robert H. "Truman's Place in History." Reviews in American History 18, no. 1 (March 1990): 8-10. ATLA.

Please note: Only include the database name if journal article is not from a paper-based journal. If the PDF is paginated, the database name is not required.

Robert H. Ferrell, "Truman's Place in History," Reviews in American History 18, no. 1 (March 1990): 9, ATLA.

Magazine article from a database

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title (Month Day, Year): Page range. Database. First name Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title (Month Day, Year): Page, Database.
Sacirbey, Omar. “In Academia, Comments About Islam Remain Risky.” The Christian Century (February 8, 2012): 9-12. ATLA. Omar Sacirbey, “ In Academia, Comments About Islam Remain Risky,” The Christian Century (February 8, 2012): 10, ATLA.

Online newspaper article

Bibliography Footnote
Not usually included in the Reference List. Kane Young, “Bathed in Harmony,” Mercury, May 28, 2012, http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?index =12&did=71179581&SrchMode=2&sid=1&Fmt=3&Vin st =PROD&VType=PQD&RQT=309&VName=38858

 

eBook

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher. Year. URL First name Surname, Title, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page location, URL

White, Ellen G. Evangelism. Mountain View, CA: Pacific Press. 1952. http://www.whiteestate.org/n books/ed/ed.asp#35

In general, follow the guidelines for print books, adding the URL.

Ellen G. White, Evangelism, (Mountain View, CA: Pacific Press, 1952), chap. 4, sec. 1, At the Feasts, http://www.whiteestate.org/books/ed/ed.asp#35

If there are no page numbers identify the location using chapters, sections, etc. Add this using ‘Edit and Manage Citations’ and place information in the Page field.

eBook from an academic research database

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Database. First name Surname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page, Database.

Asong, Linus. Salvation Colony. Melbourne: Bertrams Print on Demand, 2009. Ebook Central Academic Complete.

A location is not given, but look up Bertrams Print on Demand on the internet and Melbourne is one of the locations.

Linus Asong, Salvation Colony (Melbourne: Bertrams Print on Demand, 2009), 96, Ebook Central Academic Complete.

Add page number as usual or add chapters, Section etc to the pages field.

Translated eBook

Bibliography Footnote
Calvin, John. Institutes of the Christian Religion. Translated by John Allen. 5th rev. ed. Vol. 1. Philadelphia: Presbyterian Board of Publication, 1844. Hathi Trust.

John Calvin, Institutes of the Christian Religion, trans. John Allen, 5th rev. ed (Philadelphia: Presbyterian Board of Publication, 1844), 1:235, Hathi Trust.

If a page number is not available for the note, include a descriptive locator such as the heading under which the quote can be found. Do not include Vol. 1 as this is indicated in the pages, 1 (Volume):235.

 

Kindle eBook 

Bibliography Footnote
Surname, First name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Database. First name Surname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), location, Database.

Gladwell, Malcolm. Outliers: The Story of Success. Boston: Little, 2008. Kindle.

Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success (Boston: Little, 2008), chap. 1, sec. 4, Kindle.

These are the abbreviations you can use:

chap. = chapter

pt. = part

bk. = book

sec. = section

Online Encyclopedia

Bibliography Footnote
Not usually included in the Reference List. Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, s.v. “Sarsaparilla,” 2006, https://ebookcentral.proquest. com/lib/avondale/reader.action?docID=361914

 

Online Dictionary

Bibliography Footnote
Not usually included in the Reference List. Oxford English Dictionary Online, s.v. “Pluperfect,” 2009, http://dictionary.oed.com