Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Edition Referencing: NURSING

Key Nursing Textbooks Examples

Brotto, V., & Rafferty, K. (2020). Clinical dosage calculations (3rd ed.). Cengage Learning Australia.

 

Brown, D., Buckley, T., Aitken, R. L., & Edwards, H. (Eds.). (2024). Lewis's medical-surgical nursing: Assessment and management of clinical problems (6th Australia and New Zealand ed.). Elsevier Australia.

NOTE: Editors for the 5th edition are listed in a different order - please refer to the edition you are using and enter all required elements correctly.

NOTE: This is an edited book. Please follow Chapter in an Edited Book referencing rules for correct referencing and citation.

For Example:

Aitken, R. L. (2024). Working with Indigenous peoples of Australia and New Zealand. In D. Brown, T. Buckley, R. L. Aitken & H. Edwards (Eds.), Lewis' medical-surgical nursing: Assessment and management of clinical problems (6th Australia and New Zealand ed., pp.76-91). Elsevier Australia.

In-text: (Aitken, 2024).

Narrative: According to Aitken (2024) 

 

Broyles, B., Reiss, B., Evans, M., McKenzie, G., Pleunik, S., & Page, R. (2020). Pharmacology in nursing (3rd Australian and New Zealand ed.). Cengage Learning Australia.

 

Farrell, M. (Ed.). (2017). Smeltzer and Bare’s textbook of medical–surgical nursing (4th Australian and New Zealand ed., Vols. 1–2). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Australia. 

Please Note: The Publication Manual notes in Section 9.29 that the specific imprint or division that published a work is what is included in the reference (see the third bullet on page 296). For the Brotto and Rafferty source for example, because its copyright page noted that Cengage Learning Australia was the copyright holder of the book.

Nursing Citations

Here you will find examples of nursing specific citations. Please note, you will still need to use the other tabs to assist you in citing books, journal articles, webpages, etc.

* You may use the acronym of a corporate author in your assignment in most cases, after first introducing the full name in your first citation within square brackets. 

For example

First in-text citation:

(Australian Medicines Handbook [AMH], 2019).

Subsequent citations:

(AMH, 2019)

Nursing Specific Examples

 

Registered nurses standards for practice

Reference List In-text Citation
Corporate author name. (Year). Title. URL
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2016). Registered nurses standards for practice. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/codes-guidelines-statements/professional-standards/registered-nurse-standards-for-practice.aspx

First in-text citation:

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2016, Standard 5.3)

Subsequent citations:

* You may use the acronym after introducing the full name in your first citation e.g. (NMBA, 2016, Standard 5.3)

 

National safety and quality health service standards

Reference List In-text Citation
Corporate author name. (Year). Title. URL

Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. (2021). National safety and quality health service standards (2nd ed.). https://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/sites/default/files/2021-05/national_safety_and_quality_health_service_nsqhs_standards_second_edition_-_updated_may_2021.pdf

First in-text citation:

(Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care [ACSQHC], 2021, Standard 2.4.1)

Subsequent citations:

(ACSQHC, 2021, Standard 2.4.1)

 

* As above, you may use the acronym after introducing the full name in your first citation

 

Code of conduct for nurses

Reference List In-text Citation
Corporate author name. (Year). Title. URL
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018). Code of conduct for nurses. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/documents/default.aspx?record=WD17%2f23847&dbid=AP&chksum=BIvAWN0iQspBLSXlDBR1pQ%3d%3d

First in-text citation:

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2018, Standard 1.2)

Subsequent citations:

* You may use the acronym after introducing the full name in your first citation e.g. (NMBA, 2018, Standard 1.2)

Note: To access the correct URL, right click on the hyperlinked text and select Copy link address. Copy and paste this URL into your citation.

 

 

ICN code of ethics for nurses

Reference List In-text Citation
Corporate author name. (Year). Title. URL
International Council of Nurses. (2021). The ICN code of ethics for nurses. https://www.icn.ch/system/files/2021-10/ICN_Code-of-Ethics_EN_Web_0.pdf

First in-text citation:

(International Council of Nurses [ICN], 2021, p. 8)

Subsequent citations:

* You may use the acronym after introducing the full name in your first citation e.g. (ICN, 2021 p. 8)

 

 

Article in a nursing database

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Title of Database. URL  
Komusky, J., & Schub, T. (2013). Abdominal aortic aneurysm. CINAHL Nursing Guide. http://ezproxy.rasmussen.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.c om/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nup&AN=T704248&site=eds-live (Komusky & Schub, 2013)

 

Article in database with an Unique Article Number

Reference List In-text Citation
Surname, Initial. (Year). Title. Title of Journal, volume(issue), Unique article number. URL or DOI   

Jayaweera, M., Perera, H., Gunawardana, B., & Manatunge, J. (2020).

Transmission of COVID-19 virus by droplets and aerosols: A critical review on the unresolved dichotomy. Environmental Research188(9), 109819. doi:10.1016/j.envres.2020.109819 
(Jayaweera, et al., 2020)

 

 

Guideline with PDF

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Publisher if different to author. URL
Guideline Adaption Committee. (2016). Clinical practice guidelines and principles of care for people with dementia. NHMRC Partnership Centre for Dealing with Cognitive and Related Function Decline in Older People. https://cdpc.sydney.edu.au/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/CDPC-Dementia-Guidelines_WEB.pdf (Guideline Adaptation Committee, 2016)

 

Online Guideline, regularly updated

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL
Stroke Foundation. (n.d.). Clinical guidelines for stroke management. Retrieved July 16, 2020, from https://informme.org.au/en/Guidelines/Clinical-Guidelines-for-Stroke-Management-2017 (Stroke Foundation, n.d.)

Note: A retrieval date is needed in the above example as the content of the website is regularly updated.

Joanna Briggs Institute [Best practice: Evidence based information sheet]

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Source, Volume(Issue), Page number/s. URL
Joanna Briggs Institute. (2020). Effectiveness of interventions to reduce emergency department staff occupational stress and/or burnout. Best Practice: Evidence based information sheets for health professionals, 22(5), 1-4. http://joannabriggs.org/ (Joanna Briggs Institute, 2020)

 

Joanna Briggs Institute [Evidence Summaries]

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title (Accession Number: ****) [Evidence Summaries]. Database. URL
Fong, E. (2019). Acute gout: Systematic corticosteroids (AN: JBI16908) [Evidence Summaries]. Joanna Briggs Institute. http://joannabriggs.org/ (Fong, 2019)

 

CINAHL [Evidence-based care sheet]

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title [Evidence-based care sheet]. Name of database. URL
Schub, T., & Cabrera, G. (2018). Bites: Head lice [Evidence-based care sheet]. CINAHL Nursing Guidehttp://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ccm&AN=T701321&scope=site (Schub & Cabrera, 2018)

 

BMJ Best Practice

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Publisher. URL
Goldfarb, S., & Josephson, M. (2020). Cystic fibrosis. BMJ Best Practicehttps://bestpractice.bmj.com/ (Goldfarb & Josephson, 2020)

 

The Cochrane Library [Systematic Reviews]

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Database. URL
Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram Mahesh, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviewshttps//doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2 (Singh, Kour & Jayaram Mahesh, 2012)

Therapeutic Guidelines

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title of section. In Database Name. URL  

Therapeutic Guidelines. (2019). Ulcer and wound management. In Electronic Therapeutic Guidelineshttps://protect-au.mimecast.com/s/ok8NCD1vzPI02lyhWJ8Ok?domain=tgldcdp.tg.org.au
 

(Therapeutic Guidelines, 2019).


ICD-11

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title of information used. In Title of work (edition). URL  

World Health Organisation. (2019). 2A85.5 Mantle cell lymphoma. In International statistical classification of diseases and related health problems (11th ed.). https://icd.who.int/browse11/l-m/en#/http://id.who.int/icd/entity/1804127841

 

Because the ICD-11 is available online and does not have a DOI, provide a URL.

First in-text citation:

(World Health Organisation [WHO], 2019).

Subsequent in-text citations:

(WHO, 2019).

 

Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of work. URL  
Australian Medicines Handbook. (2019, July). Insulins. In Australian medicines handbook. (AMH, 2019)

 

MIMS Drug database

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title of section. In Database name. URL  

MIMS. (n.d.). Keflex. In MIMS. http://www.mims.com.au 

(MIMS, n.d.).


 

Nursing Reference Center Plus

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title. Title of database. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL
Capel, C., & Pravikoff, D. (2019). Wound care: Performing chemical debridement. Nursing Reference Center Plus. Retrieved January 15, 2020, from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nrc&AN=T706160&site=nrc-live (Capel & Pravikoff, 2019).

 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Reference List In-text Citation
Author. (Year). Title (Edition). URL

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.).

 

DSM-5-TR

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th Text Revised ed.).

 

Refer to the Specific Chapter Used

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Anxiety disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th Text Revised ed.).

 

First in-text citation:

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5; American Psychiatric Association [APA], 2013) does not .....

Subsequent mentions of the manual use: DSM-5

e.g. The DSM-5 is intended to be used by clinical....... (APA, 2013).

 

In text

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR; American Psychiatric Association [APA], 2022) does not .....

 

According to the DSM-5-TR, excessive fear and anxiety is commonly associated with anxiety disorders (APA, 2022).

 

 

Australian Prescriber

Reference List

For the first source, the Australian Prescriber is a journal, so the reference should be formatted like a journal article reference. The articles for this journal are commissioned, so when their authors are not named, the titles of the articles may be moved to the author position of the reference. Use the DOI rather than the URL.

Aripiprazole. (2003). Australian Prescriber, 26(5), 118–119. https://doi.org/10.18773/austprescr.2003.084

In-text citation: ("Aripiprazole," 2003)

 

 

It is worth noting that NPS MedicineWise does not write the descriptions found in their Medicine Finder. Rather, the descriptions come from the manufacturers. Therefore, follow the following reference format:

Otsuka Pharmaceutical. (2021). Abilify. NPS MedicineWise. https://www.nps.org.au/medicine-finder/abilify-tablets

In-text citation: (Otsuka Pharmaceutical, 2021)

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Reference List In-text Citation
Australian Bureau of Statistics. (Year). Title of page (No. of stat). URL 
Australia Bureau of Statistics. (2017). Recorded crime: Victims (No. 4510.0). http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@. nsf/mf/4510.0 

(ABS, 2017)

* You may use the acronym after introducing the full name in your first citation

NSW Mental Health Act

Reference List In-text Citation
Title Year (Jurisdiction). URL Title Year (Jurdiction) pinpoint reference.

Mental Health Act 2007 No. 8 (NSW). https://legislation.nsw.gov.au/view/html/inforce/current/act-2007-008

Endnote Settings

Electronic Book

Add Act title Year to Title field

Add Jurisdiction abbreviation to Year field

Add URL to URL field

Enter in-text citations with abbreviations manually if using endnote.


 

First In-text

(Mental Health Act [MHA], 2007 No. 8 (NSW), s. 18).

Subsequent Entries

(MHA, 2007, s. 2).

Narrative

Under Section 6.3 of the Mental Health Act 2007 No. 8 (NSW) a person under the age of...

Under Section 6.3 of the MHA (2007) ...

According to the MHA (2007) ...

Note: 

Ahmad, B., & Patel, B. (2023, May 23). Trachoma. In StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK559035/

 

Malik, A., Brito, D., & Vaqar, S. (2022). Congestive heart failure. StatPearls. Retrieved September 1, 2022, from https://www.statpearls.com/ArticleLibrary/viewarticle/22661

 

 

UptoDate

 

Reference List In-text Citation

 

Surname, Initial., & Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of information. Name of Database. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Insert URL 

(Surname, Year).

Bordeaux, B., & Lieberman, H. R. (2020). Benefits and risks of caffeine and caffeinated beverages. UpToDate. Retrieved February 26, 2020, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/benefits-and-risks-of-caffeine-and-caffeinated-beverages

 

  • Articles in the UpToDate database are available only in that database and have information that changes over time.

 

  • In the reference list, format UpToDate articles like periodical articles. Italicize the database name in the reference like a periodical title, but do not italicize the database name if it appears in the text.

 

  • Use the year of last update in the date element.

 

  • Include a retrieval date because the content is designed to change over time and versions of the page are not archived.

Parethetial citation:

(Bordeaux & Lieberman, 2020)

 

Narrative citation:

According to Bordeaux and Lieberman (2020) 

 

According to Smith et al. (2023) nursing care requires.....